IN ONE of the closest ever seasons across all four divisions of the South Devon and Torbay Table Tennis League, we have finally established the winners of two divisions, writes Tony Halse. 

It was a superb, three-horse race that went to the wire in the First Division. NA Buzzards emerged as champions but had to wait until their two rivals for the title battled out the final fixture at the top of the table.

The NA Buzzards team of Kevin Nicholls, Herbie Sage and Simon James recorded a fine 10-0 victory over Brixham Sharks which put them top of the league, five points ahead of clubmates NA Batmen.

NA Batmen needed to win against the undefeated Torbay Academy 1 to clinch the title but suffered an 8-2 defeat handing the title to NA Buzzards. Aarish Maharjan and Toma Mitranescu in fine form with maximums for the Academy in another first-class encounter.

NA Batmen finished three points behind the NA Buzzards in the runners-up spot just a point ahead of Torbay Academy 1. The Academy’s Toma Mitranescu finished top of the averages with just one defeat.

The Fourth Division title was claimed by Torbay Academy 5 following a 10-0 victory over Brixham Seals. Jean Neafcy, Eve James and Aleksandra Treder eased past the basement side to take the league title by nine points.

Dawlish Doubtfuls finished in second place. The Doubtfuls’ Marc Grim picked up the award for the top average, remarkably going through the season undefeated.

The top two in the Third Division, level on points, battled out a 5-5 draw. Martin Dilkes was unbeaten for the Taverners, helping them to a share of the points with their close rivals, Torre Vikings.

Torbay Academy 4, playing two matches in the week, picked up a draw against Brixham Gulls and a 7-3 win against Dawlish Renegades. Kai Fowler scored a maximum for the Academy and Kevin Ayling bagged a maximum for the Brixham Gulls.

Also busy were the Dawlish Renegades who, thanks to a Pierre Doutreligne maximum, defeated Torbay Academy 3 6-4 in their second encounter of the week.

The Team Singles Handicap Cup finalists have now been decided following Brixham Sharks’ comfortable 29-7 victory over Torre Vikings. The Brixham Sharks’ team of Clive Banham, Chris Harper and Joseph Edwards will face NA Parrots who last week defeated NA Falcons in the other semi-final.

The only confirmed Team Doubles Handicap Shield finalists, NA Harriers, still have to wait to see who their opponents will be. Clubmates NA Condors defeated Torre Vikings 22-14 in the quarter-final and will play Brixham Sharks next week for that place in the final against NA Harriers.